top of page

Winter Woodland Whimsy: How I Decorated For Christmas 2018



The last few days here in Melbourne have been nothing short of sweltering. It is safe to say Summer has arrived, although apparently not for long as in usual Melbourne-fashion, it will be back to rain and cold weather within the next few days - I'll be secretly rejoicing! I am the furthest from a hot weather lover, give me chilly wintery days any day of the year, and I desperately wish that one day I will get to experience a white Christmas! I love Christmas, spending time with family, and I do admit that it's always fun jumping into the pool after our Xmas lunch feast, but some of the magic is always missing! I want to build snowmen, make snow angels and sit by the fire drinking hot chocolate and watching Christmas movies. Instead you'll find us Aussies sitting under the aircon, eating icy poles and watching National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation year after year - I guess it's not all bad!

This year I decided to splurge and buy myself the Christmas tree of my dreams! I have always wanted a flocked tree, and am so in love with how this tree brings a little bit of "white Christmas" into my home. It feels so magical! It took me almost a week to get it decorated just right, all whilst listening to Mariah Carey and Michael Bublé on repeat!


The theme that I was going for was "whimsical winter woodland", combining delicate icy blue crystal organza ribbon with rustic burlap bows. I just love how it tied in well with the rest of my home's decor! I scoured the internet for the perfect organza ribbon to adorn the tree, however had no luck! So I got my DIY on, buying three metres of crystal organza fabric from Spotlight, cutting it into three long strips that I folded over on themselves, sewed into tubes, turning inside out to ensure the fabric would not fray and sewed up the ends. I am so happy with how they turned out and love how it billows as it weaves in and out around the tree. I made bows out of burlap ribbon, also from Spotlight, following this Youtube video and securing them to the tree with some jewellery wire.


All of the decorations are from previous years, many of them from Bed Bath N' Table, Pottery Barn, West Elm, Adairs, Myer, Target and Spotlight.



I bought the cream velvet tree skirt from Kmart, which features adorable pompoms and is reversible with burlap on the underside.

Throughout the house I have added decor that keeps with the theme, including frosted holly branches, rustic glittery table top trees and cute woodland creatures.





Now that my home is finally decorated, I am so excited for what is to come during this magical time of the year! Bring on Christmas!! I would love to know how you have decorated your home, leave a comment down below!


0 comments

Comments


bottom of page