top of page

Fall Asleep Faster Tonight!



I am sure we have all been there, you're tired, yawning like you're trying to catch a fly, and a soon as your head hits the pillow all thought of falling asleep gets thrown out the window. Your brain switches into overdrive and soon you are having a quarter life crisis or reliving the time you farted in front of your crush in 3rd grade (so totally didn't happen...)!!

And it always happens at the worst time! You know you need to be up bright and early for an important meeting or event, but yet your brain won't switch off and you've tried counting sheep enough times to know it will just make it worse.

So, what do you do? I have seven tips that are tried and tested to help you get your beauty sleep TONIGHT!

Limit your caffeine intake

I know what you're thinking, but hear me out! It doesn't have to be like Sophie's Choice - because let's face it nobody wants to have to choose between coffee and sleep. Make sure that any caffeine you consume throughout the day is had before 3pm, any later and it can cause a disruption of the production of melatonin, leading to restless night's sleep.

Exercise wisely

Making exercise a daily habit can help you sleep by reducing anxiety and stress levels. Aerobic exercise like walking and jogging has been shown to help increase sleep quality, however, it is important to choose the time you exercise wisely. It is recommended to exercise at least two hours before bedtime, to allow adequate time to relax and cool down, as exercising late in the evening can over-stimulate your body, making it difficult to fall asleep quickly.

Create a night time routine

Creating a routine that you follow each night before bed will help condition your body and mind to realise when it is time to go to sleep. My night time routine begins approximately 1-1.5 hours before I need to go to bed. I start by cleaning up the kitchen, lounge and dining room, so that my home is "back to zero" as I call it. I then check my diary to see what my schedule is like for the following day and write out any to-do's so I don't forget. After, I will have my nightly shower, get into my PJs, and brush my teeth. I hop into bed, watch TV or read a book for 30-45 minutes, and then lights out!

Write it down

When I'm stressing out about something, the most important thing that helps me forget about my worries and get a good night's sleep is to write what I am thinking down. Whether it is any pressing tasks that must be completed the next day, or if I'm nervous about an important interview, I will "brain dump" onto a piece of paper, so that my thoughts or worries have been written down and I can clear my mind until the morning. My bedside drawer always has a notepad and pen, just incase I am laying in bed and I either think of something that needs to be added to my to-do list or I am struck by a brilliant idea.

Break up with technology

Make your bedroom a technology free zone. DON'T do what I am doing right now and work on your computer from the comfort of your bed (I should really listen to my own advice)! We all get FOMO sometimes but if you need to be up bright and early, you'll have to leave chat and put your phone down. Don't be tempted to answer any late night DMs, instead put your phone on Do Not Disturb, and leave it in another room of the house.

Make some noise

If you are still finding it difficult to fall asleep, try playing some white noise, either by turning on a pedestal fan or white noise app. I use this free app, which has soothing sounds of rain or crackling fire places, as well as calming bedtime stories that will have you sleeping like a baby in no time.

Get out of bed

Sometimes no matter what you try, you just can't fall asleep! Instead of crying into your pillow or scrolling through Facebook, get up and out of bed. It can feel pretty frustrating not being able to sleep, but rather than worrying about it and getting yourself worked up, go sit in a comfy chair, with some low lighting and do some light reading. Alternatively, roll out your yoga mat and practice some meditation or light stretching. Avoid using your phone or catching up on your favourite Netflix show, as the blue light emitted from devices can affect melatonin levels. After 30 minutes, your frustration should be gone, and you'll have a better chance of falling asleep.​​



7 Tips To Fall Asleep Faster
0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page